PERMANENT EXHIBITIONS ONE

Churches & Chapels

Church Organ & Stool
Church Organ & Stool
Deacons Memorial Chair
Deacons Memorial Chair
Deacons Memorial Chair Details
Deacons Memorial Chair Details
Presentation Oak Deacons Chair
Presentation Oak Deacons Chair
Sunday School Infants Chair
Sunday School Infants Chair
Foundation Stone
Foundation Stone
Foundation Stone Details
Foundation Stone Details

World Wars 1 and 2 (Ground & First Floors)

WW1 Cabinet 1 Left
WW1 Cabinet 1 Left
WW1 Cabinet  1Centre
WW1 Cabinet 1Centre
WW1 Cabinet 1 Right
WW1 Cabinet 1 Right
WW1 Cabinet 2 Left
WW1 Cabinet 2 Left
WW1 Cabinet 2 Centre
WW1 Cabinet 2 Centre
WW1 Cabinet 2 Right
WW1 Cabinet 2 Right
World War 2 Uniforms
World War 2 Uniforms
World War 2 Cabinet
World War 2 Cabinet

Schools

School 02 April 2021
School 02 April 2021
School 01 April 2021
School 01 April 2021
10 School Mistress
10 School Mistress
9 Schoolgirl
9 Schoolgirl
1 Brynmawr County School Song
1 Brynmawr County School Song
2 County School Cabinet left
2 County School Cabinet left
3 County School Cabinet middle
3 County School Cabinet middle
4 County School Cabinet right
4 County School Cabinet right
5 Sec Modern School Prefects Badge
5 Sec Modern School Prefects Badge
7 Board School Tapestry 1888
7 Board School Tapestry 1888
School Photographs
School Photographs
11 Teachers Desk
11 Teachers Desk
12 School Desk details
12 School Desk details
13 Teachers Bell
13 Teachers Bell
14 Ink Bottle
14 Ink Bottle
15 Ink Filler
15 Ink Filler
16 School Milk Bottle
16 School Milk Bottle
17 Spade used to cut first sod of Brynma
17 Spade used to cut first sod of Brynma
18 Spade Photo text
18 Spade Photo text

Photo 05 on  top row -  The music for the County School song was written by Ken Richards  and the words by Mary McDonald Taylor - both were teaching in St. Mary's Church in Wales School at the time.  Ken Richards won an eisteddfod medal for the song and the medal is displayed in the County School cabinet.  Ken's daughter, Margaret, who is a Member in the Museum donated the medal and the original music score to the Museum.

 

Photo 04 on  second row - The  Tapestry embroidered by Annie Furzer, age 10 in 1888, was bought on ebay by Andrew Rhys, Beddau, who donated it to the Museum.  Annie Furzer was the great-aunt of Marjorie Holley (nee Furzer),  a Museum Member and in charge of our Thursday coffee mornings.